Vegan-friendly lubricants do not contain any animal-derived substances. While many lubricants meet this qualification, some common ingredients may pose an ethical dilemma for strict vegans and vegetarians. For example, some lubricants contain lactoperoxidase, which is derived from a dairy enzyme, and some commercial products are tested on animals.

Vegan-friendly lubricants are frequently advertised as “100 percent vegan,” and some manufacturers have official certifications demonstrating their commitment to strict vegan or vegetarian standards.